top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

River Dream

I had a dream this week that my family and I were in a long, thin, wooden boat. It was too shallow to fill with all our belongings, too shallow almost to sit comfortably without falling out. We were in a massive, swirling river. We kept falling out and my husband and I had to grab the kids and haul them back into the boat. We hit rapids and all of us had to hang on... But we made it. We made it to our destination and then I woke up.

We have six more days in Jeddah and my dream definitely reflects how I have been feeling about our move. We have so much to do, and we are trying to keep the kids safe and comforted as they too are feeling the transition. My youngest cried when we left the school. Big tears slid down her cheeks as she said, "I am going to miss this place." I agreed.

The picture above is of the Danube in Budapest. I had the immense pleasure of attending my literacy coaching cohort there just last month. The timing, however, seemed like it couldn't be worse. It is the end of the school year, we are moving, grades are due... And yet there I was getting on a plane and flying to Europe for a week. It ended up being perfect timing. Budapest was incredible. I couldn't think about packing or moving or anything except for the content of our long workshop days, new friends, the beauty of Romania. After long days in class, I would sit by the Danube and soak up the feeling of being outside in a t-shirt (not an abaya!) and look up at the clouds (there are almost no clouds in Jeddah) and soak in the green of the nature around me. It gave me the pause I needed to return to the chaos refreshed.

We are so close to ending our time here, and we still have so much to do, but very very soon we will be sitting by a lake in Minnesota surrounded by family and green trees and light breeze. We just need to hang on.

Budapest, Hungary. May, 2018

bottom of page